Post #18: Reacting to Class Podcasts

Here it is, the last assigned blog post of the semester. Oh how far we’ve come. Today in class we got a chance to listen to some of the podcasts of the other groups in the class. Overall, I felt that they were really good and most of them proved to be interesting to listen to because of the energy brought to the discussion.

One thing that I liked about most of the podcasts played in class is that the structure of the discussion was much more like a conversation and less like a script. I think this was very effective in communicating the group member’s ideas in the discussion because it made their responses to questions and prompts feel much more genuine than how a script would sound. Along with this, I noticed that all of the podcasts we listened to were about topics that the members were interested in whether it be food, football, or winter olympic sports. I think this can apply to the podcast Alvin and I created, since we chose a topic that affects us and that we can relate to and therefore talk about more. Plus, in choosing a topic that is interesting the energy and mood conveyed to the audience translates as much more positive and therefore makes the audience interested in what you have to say.

I think that everyone in the class had fun with this assignment. Though it was much different than traditional writing assignments, everyone was able to put their own unique spin on the project to make it more interesting to them. I think it’s important to have students do projects that allow them to have this kind of freedom. In being able to choose your own topic students can choose something that is enticing to them, therefore giving them more motivation to complete the assignment. I’m glad that we were able to end the semester with projects that gave us more freedom as writers. I hope that in my writing future I am given more opportunities to have freedom in my work.

Leave a Reply

