The good, the bad, and the dirty work

Coming in to college, I applied as a fashion design major. I knew I loved to sew and make garments but I was unsure if this was going to be the right career path for me and if I could really see myself doing this the rest of my life. However, as soon as I started fashion here at Syracuse I knew that I was in the right major.Right off the bat I reconnected with my love for sewing and getting to be precise in my work to create beautiful garments.

Quickly I have learned that being a fashion design major has it’s hardships though. Every night during the school week I am at the warehouse sewing for some period. Sometimes it’s only from 7pm to 10pm, but I have even been there from 7pm to 2am in order to finish work for our construction class. While others are quick to complain about the long hours of work and the tedious stitches and samples we need to practice, I love getting to practice different techniques and add them to the different garments we make. This semester I made my first ever pair of jeans which I had so much fun with, while others complained and struggled through the assignment.

I am really glad that I picked fashion design as my major. Even though I get frustrated at times and feel like I am drowning in work (for example I have exactly a week to make a vest and a bag of my own design right now) I am so proud of the end results and wouldn’t trade that feeling for any other major.

🙂

Leave a Reply

