Post #15: Reaction to presentation day 1

Now that everyone in the class has done research on their chosen discourse community, we have begun presenting our ideas to the class via a presentation called an artifact gallery. For this artifact gallery we picked four or five different genres from our community and talked about how these genres relate to our community and what purpose it serves. With my chosen community of WGI, I showed images of a score recap sheet, a newsletter, a flyer, part of their website and their program book from the 2016 world championships. I think that my presentation went very well, and I think that there will be a lot of material I can work with when it comes time to write my report in the following weeks.

As for the presentations from the rest of the class, I thought that everyone did a very good job as well. I noticed that everyone seemed to have put a lot of thought into their chosen community and did a good job researching different genres that they could incorporate into their final report. I liked how a lot of my classmates chose a community that they are a part of or feel passionate about. By doing this, I felt that in their presentations they were much more interested in the topic and were therefore able to speak more passionately and freely about what their plans are for tackling the community project.

I think it is important for us to choose a community that we are a part of or have some connection with. Not only will this make it easier for us to research information about it, but it will make the overall writing process easier. I’m interested in seeing how this project comes out in the end, and I hope that by choosing a community that I love being a part of, the writing process won’t be as difficult.

Leave a Reply

