Reaction to Rhetorical Analysis

Over the last few weeks, we have been working on rhetoric in terms of textual and contextual analysis in preparation of writing an essay analyzing some form of rhetoric on campus or in a specific event. Reflecting back on the essay I wrote for this topic I think my essay went fairly well. In the beginning of examining rhetorical analysis I was slightly confused. This was mostly due to the fact that the articles I was reading to explain rhetoric were very on the more difficult side to read. Regardless, I was able to differentiate between the different ways of using rhetoric and means of analyzing it in order to craft an essay.

I chose to do a textual analysis for my essay. Though some of my friends told me that this would the harder option I felt more comfortable at analyzing text than pulling context from an event. I think it is interesting that once examined text can have a specific meaning behind it and how the phrasing of certain things and the formatting of certain elements can have an impact on the audience.

Once again I found that I had too many things to say and not enough space to say it. However, this time I didn’t go over the limit a crazy amount (only a paragraph this time, not two pages). I feel like I am beginning to become more concise in the phrasing I use and getting to my point quicker and more cohesively. A difficulty I found while writing this essay was that I didn’t know how to begin my introduction. It’s sometimes hard to start an essay when you don’t know exactly what your essay is going to turn in to. Despite this, I think for the future when I don’t know exactly what I am going to write about, I will try my professor’s route an try starting in the middle and then go back to the introduction after I have established my topic.

Overall, though there were a couple bumps along the way I think the essay went fairly well. It certainly has helped me better understand rhetoric and how it can be applied in the world.

Leave a Reply

