Digital Literacy Narrative

This past month in writing 105 we have been working toward constructing an essay analyzing our writing habits over the week. This week is the week we submit it! The beauty of this assignment is that since it is a digital essay we can link pictures and other things to other places so we don’t exceed the five page maximum. Naturally, being the person I am, I exceed that limit with a seven paged draft. So, below I have linked some pictures and writing passages from my essay so they can be accessed outside the essay. Enjoy some pictures of my texting and snapchatting as well as some examples of my academic and creative writing. 🙂

Texting Examples:

IMG_2771.PNG.jpeg    IMG_2770.PNG.jpeg

Left- Texting with mom vs. Right- Texting with friend

 

Snapchat Examples:

IMG_2608.PNG     IMG_2667.JPG

Silly examples of snapchatting with friends

 

Academic Writing Example:

“Communications design is an extremely competitive program, with 80,00 students enrolled in its program country-wide, that harnesses the creativity of students to produce countless products in the form of advertising, package design, graphic design, and many more. To better understand the depth and complexity of this major, Syracuse allows students to meet professors, professionals and students who are able to relay their experiences to further inspire the future generation of communications designers. Through this opportunity, students are able to understand the major of communications design at Syracuse, get ideas for potential careers after college, and get informed about current trends and issues in the field.”  -Excerpt from DES 103 essay on Comm Design

I was assigned to write this essay in my design 103 class that reflected what we had learned about communications design based on the lectures we’ve had for the past few weeks. This excerpt is the end of my introduction for this essay and is a very good example of how I keep my tone very professional when I write for a class.

 

Creative Writing Example:

“Nate- I-,” Anthony says in a shaky breath. Looking over at Anthony I immediately see the growing stain in his shirt between his chest and abdomen.

            “Anthony!” I cry as he slumps down onto me. I grab his shoulders and manage to turn him over onto his back. “You’re gonna be okay, we’ll fix you up don’t worry,” I ramble as I tear through my first aid kit in my bag. The gunfire has ceased and the only noise I hear is the pounding of my heart in my ears.

            “No, Nate,” Anthony gasps. I cut his shirt down the middle and expose the bullet wound that landed itself in his upper abdomen. His blood is already covering my hands as use his shirt to try to stop the bleeding of his wound.

        “ROBYN!” I yell. I press down harder with the shirt seeing that it is quickly becoming saturated with Anthony’s blood.

            “Nathan,” Anthony whispers in an almost calm tone.

            “You’ll be all right,” I try to comfort.

            “Nathan,” Anthony says with more force in his voice. I press my lips together to keep hold of my emotions. Behind me I hear Robyn gasp as she approaches us in a run. “You need to take care of Johnny. You need to promise to go back to him.” I want to tell Anthony that he will be able to go back to Johnny himself, but I can already see the light fading from his eyes.

            “I promise.” I grab Anthony’s hand.

            “Tell him to fight. Tell him that he can make a difference. Tell him… I love him.” I nod. I am about to respond to Anthony’s final wish when he sharply inhales and lets the air escape him in one final exhale. His tight grip on my hand relaxes and I know that I’ve lost him.

My best friend is gone.

Immediately I feel Robyn’s hand rest on my back as she kneels down beside me. I know she is already crying from the sniffle.

– Excerpt from chapter 7 of novella “Exposure”  ( if you like this maybe I’ll post more excerpts:) )

This project actually came from my English class, where we were assigned to write a dystopian novella. In my story, I created a world where, in the aftermath of a chemical war, a small group of people emerges with mutated genes that give them extraordinary abilities. I chose this scene to show as an example specifically because it is a very emotionally charged scene that is very gripping to read.I love the process of generating characters and plot that are intriguing to read and hope to one day write more stories like this one. It is this creative process that reminds me of my artwork. Each step of the process is very thought out and the author is essentially able to paint a picture with words. I assume this is why I like creative writing as well as art because “it is often difficult to tell when we are dealing with writing and when with art,” (Baron 695) since writing is an art in itself that is used to generate emotion and reaction.

Leave a Reply

